Front page > News > Patiparn Jaikampan wins the Rautavaara Competition

Patiparn Jaikampan wins the Rautavaara Competition

Patiparn Jaikampan has won the Einojuhani Rautavaara Chamber Choir Composition Competition. The prize consists of a cash prize of 7000 euros plus a commission to write a work for the Helsinki Chamber Choir, worth 4000 euros. The members of the jury were Mauricio Sotelo, Cornelia Bend, Kaspars Putniņš and Johan Tallgren. The audience also voted for their favourite. The audience prize was awarded to Raphaël Languillat.

The competition final took place at the Time of Music festival in Viitasaari, Finland on 6 July 2016. In the concert the Helsinki Chamber Choir was conducted by Nils Schweckendiek. The five finalists were selected on the basis of anonymous applications. Before completing their final work for the competition they worked with the Helsinki Chamber Choir, Nils Schweckendiek and composers Ondřej Adámek and Jukka Tiensuu in a workshop held in Helsinki.

The 2nd International Rautavaara Competition is organized by the Helsinki Chamber Choir and the Viitasaari Time of Music Festival in association with Tenso Network Europe. The Competition Founder and Artistic Director is Nils Schweckendiek and the event is generously supported by the Art Mentor Foundation Lucerne and the Jenny and Antti Wihuri Foundation.

Competition Finalists
Eugene Birman (USA)
Patiparn Jaikampan (Thailand)
Raphaël Languillat (France/Germany)
Matilda Seppälä (Finland)
Diana Soh (Singapore/France)

Competition Jury
Mauricio Sotelo, composer and conductor (Chairman)
Cornelia Bend, manager, SWR Vokalensemble Stuttgart
Kaspars Putniņš, conductor
Johan Tallgren, composer, festival director

Official name of the Competition
2nd International Einojuhani Rautavaara Chamber Choir Composition Workshop and Competition

Einojuhani Rautavaara, composer

Further information
Rautavaara Competition Manager Martti Anttila:
Tel: +358503007407