Front page > History


Time of Music (Musiikin aika) festival is organized by an association called Viitasaaren kesäakatemia ry in the beginning of July every year in Viitasaari, Central Finland. Founded in 1982, Time of Music focuses on cutting-edge contemporary music, and hosts the most important composers and artists of the field yearly, gaining an international reputation as a courageous, border-breaking and innovative event. Its exotic and remote location in the small town, by the lake, has caused a buzz within the visitors which cannot be compared to any other festival. “The spirit of Viitasaari” is a known statement spread throughout the most active countries of contemporary music.

Time of Music offers summer academy courses and workshops and because of that it is an important meeting point for music professionals and students from both Finland and abroad. The festival offers not only concerts but meetings and lectures plus presentations.

In 2009 Finland Festivals chose Time of Music The Festival of The Year.

The artistic director is composer Johan Tallgren, who is the fifth artistic director in the festival’s history, after composers Jukka Tiensuu, Jarmo Sermilä, Tapio Tuomela and Perttu Haapanen.

Time of Music Program 2021
Time of Music Program 2022
Time of Music Program 2023