The Heart of Darkness

Saturday 6th July 7 pm Viitasaari Areena

Tickets 35 / 20 €

At its main concert festival presents concert for the first time in Finland French collective La Chambre aux échos’ reworking of Saariaho´s violin concerto for Graal Théâtre for violinist, actor and videos based on Aleksi Barrière’s libretto. The concert starts with a real Saariaho gem: the audience has a chance to experience for the first time since 1981 a new workshop version of Saariaho´s first piece for music theatre Study for Life based on T.S. Eliot’s iconic The Hollow Men for soprano, actor, electronics and lights, staged by Aleksi Barrière. Between the two pieces we hear the Swedish-Serbian composer Djuro Zivkovic´s ”On the Guarding of the Heart”, the Grawemeyer-prize winner 2014. Zivkovic’s recent pieces have nearly always found their inspiration from the Eastern Orthodox Church’s prominent collection of mystic texts the “Philokalia”.

La Chambre aux échos:
Aleksi Barrière, stage direction
Etienne Exbrayat, lighting design
Thomas Kellner, actor

Uusinta Ensemble

Peter Herresthal, solo violin
Tuuli Lindeberg, soprano
Christian Karlsen, conductor


Kaija Saariaho: Study for Life (1981, revised version 2019) 20´

Djuro Zivkovic: On the Guarding of the Heart (2011) 20´
Finnish premiere

Graal Théâtre
Concerto for violin (1995), new version with text (2018) 38´
Music by Kaija Saariaho, text by Aleksi Barrière
Finnish premiere