Surfaces reframed

Thursday 5.7. at 19.00 Viitasaari Church

Tickets 30 / 15 €

The concert by the International Contemporary Ensemble, hailing from New York City, starts with Heart of Tones (1999) by the recently departed American composer Pauline Oliveros (1932–2016). The work, written for trombone and oscillators, has been described as a “sonic meditation”. The concert continues with two works by Chaya Czernowin. The first piece, Lovesong (2010) is inspired by the experience of falling in love, when one loses certain control and every moment is full of color, emotion, resonances and shimmering strange energy. The latter work with its poetic title Ayre: Towed through plumes, thicket, asphalt, sawdust and hazardous air I shall not forget the sound of (2015), on the other hand, examines what makes small things move and what makes tissues of moving sounds into a song.


International Contemporary Ensemble
Rachel Beetz, flute
Anna-Kaisa Pippuri, oboe*
Campbell MacDonald, clarinets
Gareth Flowers, trumpet
Weston Olencki, trombone
Ross Karre, percussion
Jacqueline Kerrod, harp
Anna Kuvaja, piano*
Josh Modney, violin
Marina Kifferstein, violin
Kyle Armbrust, viola
Kivie Cahn-Lipman, cello
Gregory Chudzik, double bass

Christian Karlsen, conductor

Serge Lemouton, IRCAM computer music designer
Lucas Bagnoli, IRCAM sound engineer
Maxine Mantovani, IRCAM computer music designer assistant


Pauline Oliveros: Heart of Tones 10′

Chaya Czernowin: Lovesong (2010) 10′

Chaya Czernowin: Ayre: Towed through plumes, thicket, asphalt, sawdust and hazardous air I shall not forget the sound of (2015) 10′

Sampo Haapamäki: IDEA 28´(Co-comission IRCAM-Centre Pompidou and Time of Music Festival)

Sampo Haapamäki’s commission is supported by Ulysses Network Project funded by EU Commmission.

This engagement is supported by Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation through USArtists International in partnership with the National Endowment for the Arts, the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and the Howard Gilman Foundation.