Liquid rooms

Wednesday 4.7. at 19.00 Theatre

Tickets 22 / 12 €

Israeli-born composer, Harvard University composition professor and this year’s main composer guest Chaya Czernowin’s flute work Ina (1988) is written for bass flute and six pre-recorded bass and piccolo flutes. German-Austrian composer Birgitta Muntendorf’s Public Privacy #2 Piano Cover (2013) is a dialogue between a live performer and YouTube instrumentalists. The Japanese experimental music-maker Tomomi Adachi, who also teaches improvisation at this year’s Time of Music, refers with the title of his new work, Possibility of a Masterpiece for Electric Guitar, Voice and Intermodulation (2017), to that of the American composer Morton Feldman’s 1966 piece Possibility of a New Work for Electric Guitar. In his defunensemble commission (seepings) (2017), the Finnish composer Jarkko Hartikainen lets, for once, all the distracting musical associations or earworms from past life to concretely seep into the composition. Polish-born, but Germany-based Jagoda Szmytka has expanded her compositional premises towards ever-larger cultural contexts. In sky-me, type-me (2011), scored for four voices and four megaphones, the starting point is the banalities of online discussions, a familiar topic for a composer who describes herself as “living in the internet”. The final piece of the concert is another new defunensemble commission, the long-awaited Angular Objects in Liquid Time (2018) by the University of the Arts Helsinki composition professor Veli-Matti Puumala.


Petri Kumela, electric guitar

Tomomi Adachi, voice

Timo Kurkikangas, Anders Pohjola, electronics


Chaya Czernowin: Ina  12′
Brigitta Muntendorf: Public privacy #2 Piano Cover   8′
Tomomi Adachi: Because The Possibility of A Masterpiece for Electric Guitar, Voice and Intermodulation   16′

Jarkko Hartikainen: (seepings)  15′
Jagoda Szmytka: sky-me, type-me  7′
Veli-Matti Puumala: Angular Objects in Liquid Time  15′


Organized in collaboration with the Adam Mickiewicz Institute as part of the Polska Music Programme